The Job Config History plugin is another Jenkins plugin that is vitally important to me.
- It tracks every change to job configurations
- It shows you in a job’s build history if there was a config change before a given run
- It tells you who made the change (if you have authentication configured – you DO, right?)
- It can show you a side by side diff of any two change points
- It will let you revert a job config back to any previous point in time
- It can also track changes to the master Jenkins config, but this is disabled by default
If you’ve been using Jenkins seriously for any length of time and you haven’t heard of Job Config History, I hope you’re already heading off to install it. It has saved my skin more times than I can count. Without it, unless your configuration is really locked down, anyone can make changes silently and they aren’t tracked at all. It leads to a fair amount of, “WTF, this was working…” moments.
There isn’t a lot more that I can say about the utility of this plugin, but I’ll show some example screenshots. First, here’s what the Build History list looks like when there have been config changes. The little wrench icon indicates builds that happened after a change.
If you click on one of the wrench icons you can see a side by side diff of what was changed. It also gives you a button to revert to the previous version.
You’ll also notice that there is a Job Config History link above the Build History. Clicking this shows you a view of all known changes to the job. Obviously only changes made since the plugin was installed are shown.